Why Do I Believe?

Matthew 27:22 Pilate said to them, “Then what shall I do with Jesus who is called Christ?”

When Pilate asked the crowd what he should do with Jesus, he was seeking a way out of his responsibility.  He did not realize he was asking THE question.  In our day of blogger philosophy and face-book arguments and twitter one liners we might start believing that all that noise is what it is really about.  All the questions about, “How could God….” and, “Why would a loving God…” seem to be so relevant.  All the criticisms about the failures of believers seem to also be so important to respond to as well.

Now, if you and I have a relationship with someone and they have these questions I certainly think that we should work through them.  But, when it comes to trusting in Jesus – answering those questions didn’t make you believe, did they?  It wasn’t some philosophical argument that convinced you.  It wasn’t some pithy answer about suffering or sin that won your over.  What won you over was Jesus.  His teaching.  His love.  His sacrifice.  It was these things that drew you to Him.

So, when I think about how I will share my faith – I have a question, “What about Jesus makes you not trust Him?”  If our answer to that question is suffering or sin, then we haven’t really answered the question.  We’ve dodged it.  Let me ask the question again, “What about Jesus makes you not trust Him?”  Is it His teaching?  Is it His sacrifice for you?  Is it His love?

When all is said and done, that is the real question.  Like Pilate of old I asked that question of myself – What will I do with this one called Jesus?  I had to say, “believe in Him.”  What will you say?  Is it because of Him?

Something to think about,

Pastor John

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

