A beginning (continued)

As I mentioned last time, John McCallum led me to Christ.  I grew up rather timid.  That was true of my salvation experience as well as the rest of my life to that point.  I was scared to go up front to talk with the pastor.  In our church, a person went to the front during a song at the end of the service.  Not  only did I not go up the Sunday I received Christ, I struggled with it the Sunday after that too.  However, my decision to follow Christ was real.  I was so hungry for the teachings of Jesus and the relationship that he offered me that I finished my first Bible study as fast as I could.  Pastor John was surprised that I was done before my baptism.  At that point, my life began to change.  I didn’t know it, but God was giving me a type of boldness that I never knew before.  Yes, I was still the awkward kid (I still am in many ways), but I became brave and confident where the things of Christ are concerned.  Mission trips were adventures.  Sunday School was a place of learning and excitement.  God was making me into the person He had designed me to be.
 
What about you, have you had that experience?  Have you come to a place in your life that Jesus has changed you?  Do you look back now and see what He was doing?  What was it like for you?
This entry was posted in Salvation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

